Bowls Australia

Centenary Celebrations

On 14 September 2012 the club reached the age of 100

On 29 July 2010 it was 100 years since a committee was formed to start the first bowls club in this area. The meeting was held at the Leichhardt Hotel and Mrs. Duthie presented the club a trophy to commemorate the occasion. This trophy is on display at the club.

Paul Maries came to Rockhampton in 1904 and immediately wanted to form a bowls club but could not get any backing from businessmen until he persuaded a group of people to have a meeting on that day in July 1910.

A little over two years later the Rockhampton Bowls Club became a reality. Mr. Maries’ persistence over a six-year period is a remarkable feat in its own right.

Records show that many Rockhampton business people have been heavily involved with the club over many years. The dedication of greenkeepers and stable committees allowed the club to flourish.

The driving force behind the club, Mr. Maries remained as secretary from the very first meeting until 1928. During this time he well and truly established the credentials of the club.

The inaugural president was Justice L O Lukin who remained as president for four years.

The first patron was the Honorable W Kidston L.L.D. He was followed by Justice Lukin (1916 to 1922), Justice J W Blair (1923 to 1925), Justice F T Brennan (1926 to 1935), James A Millroy (1936 to 1951), Hugh Grant (1952 to 1955), R N B Graham (1956 to 1961), W F Coker (1962 to 1981), Bates Goddard (1981 to 1998), Neil Barry (1999 to 2003).

Some of these gentlemen also held the position of president.

Other presidents were: C Snelling, W Breckells, W Burns, J W Jones, R Cousins, R M Thomson, R G Tucker, F G Dorsett, R A Standish, G N Bunn, Charles Sturgess, R Graham, A T Wood, E O Hulett, A W Nielsen, J W Beal, C W Chappell, J C N Ferguson, B E Golik, L G Duthie, J L Bruce, W D Taylor, R F Tregurtha Clive Munday, E D Blackburn, R J Vallis, F Williams, A E Briggs, George Olive, J W Adsett, W Lock, R O`Neill, W Gray, John Zonca, Glen Millar, Norm Diplock, Don McNeil, M D Martin.

Most of these gentlemen also held other positions in the club.

Secretaries over the years have been G N Bunn, who took over from Paul B Maries, (1929 to 1938), R M Thomson (1939 to 1945), G F Turner (1946, 1948 & 1949), S Robinson (1947), Bill H Cochrane (1950, & 1972 to 1975), J St Clair Gowdie, F Harris, A W Nielsen, J Hoad, L F Boaler, V Gilbert, W D B Mowat, J H Mallyon (1963, 1965 to 1971), H H Hassell (1976 to 1981), Roy Chancellor (1982 to 1990, 1992 1996), W Harris (1991), Keith Chopping (1997  to 1998).

Treasurers have included W H Robertson (1916), F H Swanwick (1917 to 1924), C P Hughes (1925 to 1926), R E Burton (1927 to 1930), J W Nutall (1932 to 1935 & 1937), E O Hulett (1936 & 1938 to 1941), G Roberts, A Ifield, Colin P Tregurtha (1945 to 1961 & 1974 to 1985), Colin E Williams (1962 to 1964 & 1966), Bill Cochrane (1965), M Martin (1967 to 1973 & 1986 to 1991), Basil Golik (1992 to 1993), Ray Roche (1994 to 2004).

The first greenkeeper was Frank Hyde (1911 to 1926) followed by T Johnson (1927 to 1928), A Buxton (1929 to 1933), Jim Pill (1934 to 1948), Clarrie Sparrow (1949 to 1950), Col Boswood and Joe Orbell (1951), Joe Orbell (1952 to 1961), Frank Harney, Norm Harth, Des Hoare (for a number of years), Pat Banney (1974 to 1977), Col James (1978 to 1997).

Honorary auditors: G H Tidbury, L T Cran, J J Norris, A T Wood, R A Standish, G F Broomhall, W B Darley, C P Tregurtha, J W Peak, C E Williams, Reg F Tickner, J A Taylor, E Olssen. Most of these held the position for many years.

Honorary solicitors: Hugh Grant, S O Land, V C Roche, W D Taylor, M J P Hart, John Shaw.

Many people held other positions in the club, including Doctor F H Vivian Voss, H Medcrsft, G H Baker, W McLlwriath, W H Rudd, J J Macaulay, J A Lucas, E L Lucas, B M Liley, W Atherton, W S A Hunter, T W Evans, J Rawlings, I G Keith, W J Austin, G B Hopper, S G Stickley, J D Donaghey, H Strachan, J Cameron, C E Croker, G A Sloan, C H Sandberg, C R Hall, C T Steen, T Conaghan, A D Murphy, M Quinn, T W Farrell, H A Black, J J Noonan, W W Duband, J C Burrowman, P Goggin, C Carr, E W Hockings, P Berry, R Mahoney, K G Pennyquick, W Armstrong, H Dever, R H Lehmhase, H Webster, M Greene, R H Kelly, C F Edwards, C M Wood, W Whitehead, R Collings, H Gallway, T Smith, R Jefferies, W E Higson, E Head, A O Kingston, C G Gatward, G B Shaw, C R Noyes, C Ricketts, A B B Poole, H I McTavish, T Moore, F Chase, A G Smith, W V Oxemham, F Flanaghan, E Kellskog, A Wilson, S R Crellin, W Winton, H Lawless, E G Kent, E P Cominio, J R Jordon, N R Browning, C R Rutherford, G W Chappell, N R Browning, G Daniels, F Harris, G Roden, B Warren, V Solomon, W Whiteley, A Brake, D J Cruden, D E Good, A McCarthy, A Dawson, C Hillman, P Puttner, C Hetherington, D Loe, J Mill, V Killoran, C Taylor, J A Taylor, C Youngberg, A Donavon, Frank McInally, F H Morrow, G Stenhouse, E J Kiavikoski, G Bodinnar, R Toombes, A J Kele, C Johnson, J Dolan, J J Power, C Bradford, J T J Whyte, V A R Tudman, H A Copeland, M Fox, J Fitzgibbons, C Landsberg, K Carlos, R Pearson, E D Blackburn, A C Jahnke, C Gough, R Bird, T Stavey, R Plane, R Vallis, R Fitzgerald, A Batley, R Cabt, R Lincoln, D Lyon, L M Brown, S J Clements, R H Pearson, A E Briggs, H Parker, H Twiddle, C McNeven, B Pascoe, J Ellanor, T Groboski, W Lock, S Dillon, J Paxton, W Gray, K Stuart, J Moreton, B Tieggs, C Jones, S Stone, Don Geldard, D Parr, R Amedee, A Asplin, M Greenough, B Birch, R Pritchard, R Hazelhurst, Frank Hawyler, Reg Birch, Bob Morgan, Clarry Bowman, Glen Clanfield, Barry Hamilton.

Many people have been involved with the Rockhampton Bowls Club over more than a century and the club would like to hear from any previous members or their descendants. Any interested person can contact the club on 0749221685 (leave a message) or ring 0749282721 (also leave a message if not answered) or post to P O Box 6163 Red Hill 4701. 

Present day members are requested to also look for whatever photos or press cuttings they may have at home or any stories of interest about the club and its members.

Past members or their descendants are invited to come back to the club to view the history in the form of honour boards and trophies. You would be made most welcome to have an afternoon tea with the bowlers on a Tuesday Wednesday or Thursday afternoon at 2.45pm. Ring the club on 49221685 to let us know you are coming.

Any companies/business houses that were involved in the club during the early years are invited to contact the club.